Shiitake Mushroom & Sweet Potato Omelette

Omelettes are a wonderful start to the day, and are so quick and easy to make. They are also a great way to use up bits and pieces of leftover food.  When eating out they are often made with cream and milk. This makes them very rich and also adds a lot of unnecessary calories to your meal. I don’t do well with rich food, and had always thought it was just the eggs, but when I make them at home I devour them. Now when I eat out for breakfast, I always ask that the eggs be done with no dairy.

I always choose free-range eggs and I hope you will too. Can you imagine the horror of a life lived cooped up in a cage?  As an animal lover, I think it is well worth the little extra to make sure you are eating from a happy bird. Where possible, I buy free range, organic, Omega 3 enriched!

  • 3 free range eggs
  • 3 shiitake mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 spring onion (salad onion), sliced
  • Several pieces of roast sweet potato (keep some aside after roasting when you make Sweet Potato & Garlic Mash)
Heat a little olive oil in a small-medium size pan and sauté your mushrooms and spring onions. Add the sweet potato when the mushrooms are lightly browning. Stir and add a little salt and pepper to taste.
In a bowl lightly whisk (with a fork) the 3 eggs until they are combined. Turn the heat on the pan down to low (give it a minute so the pan is not too hot when the eggs hit) and pour the eggs over the top of the sauteed ingredients. Don’t stir. Tilt the pan around to make sure the pan is covered. Let this cook slowly. When there is no more egg running around on the top and the egg is almost cooked, fold the omelette in half on to itself. This is done by gently easing the edges up around the omelette using a flat fish-slice until you can feel it lifting from the pan.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Once the omelette is folded in half you can lift it out onto a plate. My husband likes his eggs quite soft, so I usually take it out as soon as I fold it for him (it continues to cook in its own heat anyway), but I like mine completely cooked through so I give mine another few moments in the pan once it has been folded over.
Garnish with a piece of coriander. Perfect on it’s own, or can be served with sliced meat, avocado, sauteed spinach.
4 thoughts on “Shiitake Mushroom & Sweet Potato Omelette

  1. Now that is a beatiful omelette.

    “Everything I eat has been proved by some doctor or other to be a deadly poison, and everything I don’t eat has been proved to be indispensable for life. But I go marching on. ” ~George Bernard Shaw

  2. Yum, looks amazing.I’m looking forward to trying this one Elisa
    More veggie recipes please ! Can you do a how to when cooking with tofu? I use quorn but am a bit of scaredy of cooking tofu and don’t want to have to fry it.
    Any ideas?
    Love Shida xx

Leave a Reply

