Sight Perception

I am going to the Fat Duck next week for lunch (insert high-pitched-squealing-hysteria here) and so I have been perusing their website this morning. I always do this, though I probably shouldn’t as it means I know all about what I’m in for whenever I go to a new restaurant. But I like food and wine and it gets me even more excited about trying a new place if I have been salivating over their menu online first. Food Junkie?…yes I know.

For those of you that haven’t heard of it, The Fat Duck is Heston Blumenthal’s signature restaurant in Bray, England. It has been awarded 3 Michelin stars and always ranks in the top few in the S.Pellegrino World’s Top 50 Restaurant Awards, and it won in 2005. Heston is a self-taught chef who is famous for his experimentation and unconventional cooking, and of course for The Fat Duck. He gets his food down to a science.

On his website, I found a quote about the importance of sight perception of food, and thought it followed on nicely from my post about Colour, Texture and Presentation of Food. I wanted to share it with you.

“More than we realise, sight is a key part of what makes food delicious. Partly this is the result of learned experience: in the orbitofrontal cortex, the sight of food becomes associated with its taste, odour and texture. But it goes beyond this. Colour, for example, can actually alter our response to an odour directly in the primary olfactory cortex – the part of the brain that processes smell information – thereby changing the way we perceive that odor.”

So if you didn’t believe me, now you can take his word for it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

