Sesame Crusted Salmon with Red Curry Sauce

I was trying out a new Thai restaurant with husbando recently, and although we ordered enough food to feed a small army, or even a large army for that matter, I suffered a serious case of food envy. A dish was delivered to the next table that looked like sesame crusted salmon of sorts, and it was oozing with red curry sauce. I considered ordering it right then and there but given how full I already was I decided I would simply have to make it for myself at home.

So here it is, my version of ‘food envy’ salmon. Made it last night and it was super tasty. Such a quick and easy dish too, about 15 minutes from start to finish.

Serves 2

  • 1.5 tablespoons black sesame seeds (any asian food store should sell them, Japanese ones defiantly will)
  • 1 teaspoon white sesame seeds
  • 2 salmon fillets (wild if possible)
  • 1 teaspoon red curry paste
  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 1 small can (160ml) coconut cream
  • kaffir lime leaf (if you have it, I didn’t last night but it would have given it a nice edge)
Preheat the grill to 200 degrees celcius. Lightly toast your sesame seeds together in a pan. Heat the coconut oil so it becomes a liquid. Lay the salmon on an oven tray lined with tinfoil. Using the coconut oil lightly baste your salmon. Sprinkle the seeds on top of this to cover it. Salt and pepper. If using salmon pieces/steaks (mine you will see were tail fillets), also coat the sides of the fish with the coconut oil and sesame seeds.
Put in the oven under the grill for 12 minutes. This gives you salmon cooked through, if you like it a little rarer, take it out sooner.
In the meantime, heat the red curry paste in a pan with the coconut cream until well combined and heated through. If you have a kaffir lime leaf throw it in while you are heating the sauce.
Remove the salmon from the foil (this usually leaves the skin behind, so grease the foil with coconut oil if you want to keep it) and pour over the curry sauce. I served this on a bed of sauteed green beans, but it would go nicely on asparagus, kale or other green vegetables too. I lightly salted the fish once on the plate which really brought out its flavor.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Sesame Crusted Salmon with Red Curry Sauce

  1. I made this tonight. I realized I over complicate these recipes by not having certain ingredients and deciding I can make those from scratch. (I start making it and then realize I don’t have something.) With this I made both the coconut cream & the curry paste from scratch. (an hour prep for 1 tsp?? lol)

    My sauce ended up thicker than yours looks. Maybe I need to heat it longer?

    http://imgur.com/a/Vla7F/all#0

      • It was good, and I don’t like fish very much- but salmon makes it into my diet every once in awhile and sprucing it up makes it tasty enough that I’m looking at some of your other fishy recipes. Also I had to cook the salmon a bit longer than 12 minutes – about 25 maybe because it was frozen?

        I ended up putting a little of the curry paste without the coconut cream on the side just to dip it in – bc it was so good and seriously a little paste for 1 hour of work deserved a little more space on my plate. Going to be cooking a lot with it this week if I find some use for it.

        I’d be more amazed if I actually had all the ingredients before I started one of these days. It’s not just your recipes either. 🙂

        Also I just read a tip from an Asian Chef that said I could have used “a bit of grated lime zest and a dash of lime/lemon juice and cook the curry with a few bay leaves” to substitute for the kaffir lime leaf and “it would taste the same”.

Leave a Reply

