Avoid Food Smells in Your Hair

My husband is in Paris for work, so I had organized for a girlfriend to come over last night for dinner and a bottle of champagne (as you do, on a Wednesday). It was such a delightful evening, we talked for hours, and enjoyed a meal I had started preparing before she arrived. When the doorbell rang I was so excited to see her I ran out to greet her still wearing a showercap on my head! Yes I was fully clothed, no I had not just jumped out of the shower, and it wasn’t until she collapsed in a fit of laughter that I realized I still had my ‘cooking cap’ on.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Whenever I’m cooking something that gives off much odor, like garlic, onions, meat, fish…most things it seems, during the sautéing stage I wear a showercap on my head. Why? I have short curly hair, but enough of it bouncing around that food smells seem to stay locked in it long after I finish cooking. I love the smell of food while I’m making it, but the smell of kitchen on your person after you have eaten takes me back to the days I worked part-time as a waitress, and came home smelling like a commercial kitchen. Ugh! I hated it. To ensure my husband still snuggles me after dinner, and to avoid food smells in my hair, this is the simplest trick and I highly recommend it! I learnt it from my mother (like most of the good things I do in the kitchen) and there has been no looking back ever since. If you have guests, you may like to just endure food smells, it’s up to you. I just use one of those free hotel shower-caps and have it in a drawer next to the oven ready to go!!

5 thoughts on “Avoid Food Smells in Your Hair

  1. if anyone can pull off the ‘shower cap look’ it’s you darling… i was… laughing… at …something else… ??! oh you were so cute. too sweet. & that pork fillet was exquisite. apart from the odd bacon buttie, the Christmas ham… oh & of course a sausage here or there i would just never order pork. THAT.PORK.FILLET.WAS.GORGEOUS! it was almost like a meat i’d never tried before. thank you for extending my pallet & for that fabulous salad… the champagne & strawberries were just icing on cake.

  2. hehe I love that trick – it works a treat! sometimes I wrap a tea towel around my head for the same reason but the shower cap is much faster!

  3. I love this idea, especially if you really work the look and use a novelty shower cap like a panda one. I can just picture how i’d frighten the other half if he came in while i was sporting the panda shower cap and goggles to save the watery eyes from onion chopping. Brilliant, x

Leave a Reply

