Fresh Mint & Lemon Peel Tea

I struggle to drink enough water, I always have. I find that if I can add a little something to my aqua to take the edge of the ‘water’ taste, or lack thereof, I can get through a lot more of it! Tea, on the other hand, I can get through at an impressive rate. A talent I developed early from the many hours spent chatting with my grandmother and mother. Lately, I have been using some cold tea to lightly flavor my water. It is light and refreshing a great option on a hot day. I often make a good strong cup of herbal tea and once it has cooled, pour it in to a large bottle of water.

Fresh mint tea has to be one of my all-time favourites, and thankfully I have an abundance of mint growing in my herb garden at home. This tea, which is delicious hot or cold, is summery and clean. The addition of the lemon peel gives it a tiny zing which compliments the mint nicely.

  • 12-15 Fresh Mint leaves (I used regular mint and some Pineapple mint too, which is a little sweeter)
  • 3-5 cm of lemon peel (peeled using a vegetable peeler)
  • 500ml boiling water
Put the mint and lemon peel in a teapot and pour the boiling water over the top. Let it infuse for 3-5 minutes before serving. If you want to add it to a jug of cold water to lightly flavor it, let it infuse until it is cold, then add it to some iced water and serve with a lemonade wedge.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is lovely with a slice of fresh ginger too. Get creative, and see what variations of fresh tea you can come up. If you come across a winner please let me know!
Leave a Reply

