Orange and Ginger Steak

Love Steak. Love Pork. Love fish. Love Chicken. Love Lamb. Sorry vegetarians, but I do. I also love vegetables and salads and all things non-meat too. Ok let’s just call it what it is. I love food. I also love reading about food. Recipe books line my study and if ever I need a moment’s procrastination…I turn to them fondly and flick through their pages, lingering on beautiful photos and fantasizing about the combinations of ingredients before me. I also do this in bookstores. Recently when I was at a my local and fabulous bookstore and cafe, I saw a recipe for a ginger and orange pork marinade that sounded divine, and so I locked to memory the ingredients that I liked most from it!

I couldn’t very well take out my notepad…but this is the gist of it, or at least, by the time I got home several hours later, this is what I thought would be good in combination and quantity! I think it would be perfect with pork, but I had a hankering for steak, so this went on some juicy rib-eyes. This makes enough marinade for 2-6 steaks, 2 pork tenderloin, 2-6 pork chops.

  • juice of 1/2 an orange
  • rind of 1 whole orange
  • 3 cm ginger, peeled and grated
  • 2 teaspoons dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • steak/pork
Extra peeled ginger for the garnish if desired.
Using a teaspoon, peel the skin from a fresh piece of ginger. Grind. Combine all the marinade ingredients and stir to combine. Add the meat and turn it over several times to coat it thoroughly. Cover and refrigerate.
In the meantime, if you want to make the garnish, finely slice (julienne) about 4 cm peeled ginger. Bring a saucepan of water to the boil and add the ginger. Boil for 1-2 minutes. Heat the oven to 200 celcius, line an oven tray with foil and spread the drained ginger pieces over it. Roast in the oven for 10-20 minutes until the ginger is browned and totally dried.  (If entertaining this garnish could be made the day before and kept in an airtight container until needed.)
After 1-2 hours marinating, remove the meat from the refrigerator and get back to room temperature.
Heat some coconut oil in a frying pan. Cook the steak for approx 4 minutes on each side for medium rare (presuming each piece is over 1.5-2cm thick) or until cooked to your liking.
Garnish with the dried ginger and serve with a bed of fresh greens or a large salad.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

8 thoughts on “Orange and Ginger Steak

  1. This sounds amazing. I am definitely going to give it ago. Steaks are a friday night treat for the wife and I but I’ve been doing the same old creamy dijon sauce for years now. This recipe makes me think it’s time for a change!

  2. Does 3 cm of ginger referring to actual length or does it refer to weight?
    (ie 3 cm – 1.181… inches or is it weight 3 cm = 2.25 ounces approx)?
    I’m going to go with length I guess.

      • Good thing I guessed the length since you used 4cm for the garnish and showed it. It just threw me off with the 3 cm because one side of my ginger is about half as thick as the other side so 3 cm would be double the ginger depending which side I used.:) Then for some reason i started thinking cubic cm and started computing weights. 🙂

        btw I like your easy ginger peel trick. 🙂

  3. Ok. I made this but with a breakfast steak since it was my last meal of the day. But I think the thinner cut didn’t work too well. Maybe I should have marinated it overnight too since the flavor wasn’t very noticeable. I may have overcooked it too. I thought it’d have more flavor since it was thinner. And my ginger garnish didn’t turn out too crispy like yours. Maybe they were cut too thick. But the ginger garnish was my favorite part of the steak. I paired it with spicy hot edamame because I didn’t want another salad and I thought the ginger would go well with it. And for fun it looks like a little flower on my plate 😛

    mushroom burgers tomorrow. 🙂

    • Hi Justin,

      The steak looks a little thin so likely you might have cooked it a bit too long. The ginger you have looks good but to get it crispy it does need to be really thinly sliced and possibly left longer to crisp in your oven? Mmmmm i love edamame…might have some now you just reminded me of them. Good luck with the mushroom burgers! If you have any mushroom stock cubes (have just discovered these) you could crumble a bit of one into the mix too to get the mushroom flavour even more intense! Let me know how you get on. 😉

Leave a Reply

