Bacon & Egg Pie

Semi final time for the Rugby World Cup and I was surrounded by people cheering for the Wallabies. I decided to cook us all a hot breakfast to enjoy at half time and ease any trans-tasman tension in my living room! As it turned out, the All Blacks wiped the floor with them, so it was great morning for me on many fronts!ย The game was on at 9am in London so our friends and their little 2 year old girl had a sleep over and we all enjoyed the game, coffee and this fabulous breakfast meal this morning.

Bacon & Egg pie is easy to find in New Zealand, most cafes sell it and it is an old-fashioned but tasty lunch option throughout the country. This version is one I stole from my mother (amazing cook), and have adapted slightly. She used to make it for boating picnic lunches and it is SO YUMMY, easy to make, and packed full of goodness. Great hot or cold so make plenty.

I don’t own a pie dish, so made mine in a casserole dish but this works perfectly every time. As you will have noticed from my posts I dont shy away from quantity…so this one was a good size, feel free to halve the recipe for smaller pie dishes or for 2 people. This recipe feeds 6 hungry adults.

  • 3-5 spring onions, sliced
  • 200gm grated cheddar (sharp and tangy is best)
  • 5 large mushrooms, wiped and sliced
  • 1 zucchini (courgette), sliced
  • large handful of basil leaves, roughly chopped
  • handful or marinated red peppers
  • 4-5 tomatoes
  • 8-10 rashers of shoulder bacon, trimmed of fat and chopped in large pieces
  • Filo pastry (or shortcrust pastry)
  • 12 eggs
Heat the oven to 200 celsius. Lightly grease the pie dish/casserole dish with olive oil on the base and sides. Line the bottom and sides of the dish with pastry sheets (I use filo and keep it pretty thin, like 2 sheets). Sprinkle the base with the grated cheese and spring onions. Crack the eggs directly on top of this so that the yolks don’t break up. Salt and pepper.
Lay out the sliced mushrooms, next layer zuccini, next layer marinated peppers, top with the bacon pieces and finally the slices of tomato on the top. You can add more cheese here if you like, but I kept ours pretty healthy. Crack fresh pepper over the tomato and lay a few sheets of pastry on the top. Tuck the edges in and seal to the other sheets of pastry using a dab of olive oil. Lightly brush the top of the pie with olive oil and place it in the oven.
Cook for 60 minutes. If you use a half quantity or a wider, flatter dish, you should check it after 35 minutes as it will likely be done.To check, make a small slice in the pie and give it a little jiggle, if there is any liquid running around you need to keep cooking. (It continues to set after you take it out of the oven, but you don’t want anything runny).
Leave it to sit for a few minutes and then slice it up and serve with a little more cracked pepper. If you want to serve this at a party as a canape, slice it in to small squares when it is completely cooled and serve cold!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To make this recipe Paleo, omit the cheese and the pastry. Grease the dish with more oil to avoid it sticking and put it in the bottom tray of the oven so the tomato doesn’t burn. Or just use the pastry but peel it off!ย 

 

6 thoughts on “Bacon & Egg Pie

  1. We were the lucky ones last Sunday to share this very yummy Bacon and Egg Pie. What can I say it was delicious. Thank you Elisa for having the Romans gang for brekky and rugby. This recipe now found a new home at my recipes book ๐Ÿ™‚
    xx
    Elisa

  2. YEOOW! I had everything (kind of- I’ll get to that later). And this was super good. This trumps rob’s omelet for me (which I’ve made a few times now). This was very interesting too because the whole egg yolks. When I got my first one–I was like “that’s so cool.” ๐Ÿ™‚ I used 6 eggs.

    So I had a mix up with what shoulder bacon was and I even looked it up (along with rashers) and somehow decided it was basically middle bacon based on pictures. I’m still not positive. So after putting bacon on it and the tomatoes, I think—no way that bacon is going to cook doing this. So I looked up pictures again and now it looks like ham/Canadian bacon. And I just happened to have been given a ton of left over ham from Thanksgiving so off went the tomatoes and filo dough and bacon and on went the ham then the tomatoes and the filo dough. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It was super good this way. While I waited I grilled the bacon bacon to put on the side.

    http://imgur.com/a/jgGcM#1

    also it might not have been close enough to the top as my filo dough didn’t brown. But it still crisped. *yes I used olive oil.

    So I liked it just how it was the tomato juices fooled me a little bit into cooking it longer because you said no juices. But it didn’t suffer – just the bottom filo dough which I wasn’t going to eat anyway. I’m wondering if sauteing the tomatoes a little first would make them less liquidy. I loved them how they were–but my guinea pig prefers tomatoes less juicy/runny? Yours actually look drier in the pan then mine did. Anyhow that’s today’s cooking adventure. I wouldn’t be a cook without you. pow!

Leave a Reply

