Miso Glazed Cod

You may have read about my experience with dish at Nobu. The very next morning I decided I would give it a crack myself just to see how hard it really is? I had all the ingredients on hand anyway so I scoured all my recipe books and the internet for recipes. This is a combination of about 3, but there are still a few changes I would make. The method for cooking this was spot on, but the taste was still a bit too sweet for me. Next time I will be trying only a 1/3 cup of sugar. (If you do this, you may need to heat the sugar combination for longer to reduce it).  However, if you want to try something you know will work, the below will turn out beautifully and may be more suited to your palate anyway!
Overall, I was really pleased with this! I had never eaten it as a main meal before and I realised it is too sweet for my taste to eat in large quantities, so have decided it will be starter food from now on. Perfect for a Japanese Dinner Party (where it will be making an appearance!).
My local fishmonger does not stock black cod but had very fresh regular cod, so I bought a large fillet of it. Supposedly you need to marinate the fish for 2-3 days in the fridge. Mine was marinated for 2 days as anything longer than that makes me feel a bit anxious about the freshness factor! To be honest, I think overnight would work just as well.
Please note: When making any Japanese food, you should use Japanese ingredients. That means a trip to a Japanese supermarket, but you will thank me when you taste the difference. I never use “cooking sake” or “cooking wine” for that matter. Your food will only be as good as the ingredients you use to make it. (Not suggeting you crack open a bottle of Grange to cook with if a recipe calls for red, but get my point). I use a regular sake here that is also good for drinking. Kikoman is and likely always will be my favoured choice for Soy Sauce. 
  • 3/4 cup white miso paste
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup sake
  • 1/4 cup mirin
  • 2tbs soy sauce
  • 4-6 pieces of  black cod (or regular cod), skin on
Wash and pat dry your fish and cut into small serving portions. In a saucepan combine the sugar, sake and mirin and heat until all the sugar has dissolved and the alcohol fumes seem to have gone (about 4 minutes). Take the saucepan off the heat and add the miso paste slowly until it is all combined and you have a thick, creamy texture. Now stir in the soy sauce.
Let the marinade cool completely then set a small portion aside and refrigerate (approx 2 tablespoons). With the remainder of the marinade coat the fish well and then leave covered in the fridge.
On the night you are ready to cook the fish, heat the grill to 200 degrees. Take the fish out and gently wipe off any excess marinade. Line a baking tray with foil and lay the fish down skin side up. Grill for 5 minutes then flip the fish over and grill for a further 5 minutes.  Move the tray down a shelf and leave for another 5 minutes.
Lightly heat the extra portion of marinade  (in the microwave is fine) you reserved and use it to drizzle on the plates when serving. Because the colour of this dish is a soft brown with the white of the fish, I think it needs some deep colour to accompany it, so served ours with lightly stir-fried shallots, purple-sprouting broccoli and mung beans. Ideally it should be served with a stem of pickled ginger too!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

