Healthy Burgers!

That’s right, healthy burgers. The motivation for these was my lunch in the sun at a beautiful country pub today to celebrate my sister’s birthday. There was a huge BBQ grilling up all sorts of fabulous things, and although I eventually decided on the cajun spiced swordfish, I was very torn between the BBQ Beef Burger. To compensate for not having had room to fit both in during lunch, I decided to make homemade burgers for dinner. These took no more than 20 minutes to prepare and cook. They were DELICIOUS! Making burgers yourself means you know exactly what has gone in them. ie. no breadcrumbs, no additives, no junk. Allow 200-250gm beef mince per person. I made 3 because my husband had cycled a zillion kilometers today and needed to be fed! I used a grass-fed organic mince, so these are a wonderful source of good clean fats, are high in protein and are a very satisfying meal.

  • 600gm Beef Mince
  • 1tsp capers, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 red onion, finely diced
  • 1 tbs tomato paste
  • pinch dried thyme
  • pinch dried oregano
  • 10-12 large basil leaves, chopped
  • salt and ground black pepper
Heat your oven to 200 degrees celcius. In a large bowl combine all your ingredients and mush them together with your hands until all the ingredients are evenly mixed through.
Heat a little olive oil in a large pan. Form the meat patties in your hands (mine were about 2cm high) and brown them in the hot pan on both sides. You are not trying to cook the patties through here, but get them a nice golden brown all over.
Remove from the pan and place on an oven tray. Bake in the oven for 8 minutes. This gets them cooked through but slightly pink in the very centre. Adjust the oven time according to how you like to eat your patties.
Seve with some homemade guacamole and sliced gherkin (if you like them) or tomato salsa, and large salad.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Other serving options could be freshly sliced tomato, sliced beetroot, an egg, served on a lettuce leaf. Have fun with your food. Get creative.

20 thoughts on “Healthy Burgers!

  1. Just got an email from Chris and just made my wife and I your wonderful mince (we call them hamburgers here in California). I used a tablespoon or three of coconut oil instead of olive oil, fresh herbs since we had ’round.

    Terrific maybe the best I’ve ever tasted.

    Thank you so much for sharing.

    Best,

    Etienne

    • Hi Etienne, Thank you so much for giving them a go! So pleased you like them. Coconut oil would be great with these, I cook with it a lot. And if you have fresh herbs I would always always use them over dried ones so I bet yours were wonderful! Let me know if there is anything specific you are after. 🙂

    • Hi Emily,
      Beef mince is hamburger mince yes. Minced steak basically! Go for grass-fed if you can get it. Hope you like them! Wishing I had made more so I could eat one cold for breakfast!

  2. WOW!! ALL your recipes are super yummy, thank you so much. I’ve tried most of them and they all delicious! First thing I do when I go to my computer is check your blog. Wonderful to find recipes that are so healthy and nutritious and SO delicious. Just wanted to say thank you Elisa.

    • Soon I’ll be getting recipes from you! Cooking machine! These look perfectly cooked well done. and i’m so happy you had all the ingredients so you didn’t have to labor over grinding something up or saucing something down!

  3. I love your site *AND* I love the burger recipe, Elisa!!!

    *I came to your site courtesy of your brother Chris aka christhekiwi*

    I will make sure to bookmark it and come more often.

Leave a comment